GMR Group
Home > About GMRIT > Governing Council
Governing Council
Fellow, IIM, Calcutta

Chairman, GMRIT Governing Council
CEO, GMR Varalakshmi Foundation

Raghunathan was a Professor of Finance at IIM, Ahmedabad for nearly two decades, until 2001. He switched career as a banker for the next four years, when he served as the President of ING Vysya Bank, in Bangalore. Since January 2005, he has been the CEO of GMR Varalakshmi Foundation, which, in the last seven years, he has steered towards several prestigious awards.

Since 1990, he has been an Adjunct Professor at the University of Bocconi, Milan, Italy, where he has been teaching every year for the last 22 years. His current teaching interest is behvioural economics.

Raghunathan is a well-known author and a columnist with 10 books and over 500 papers and articles to his name. He sits on numerous boards, including prestigious corporate, educational and other bodies; has been on various national level committees; and lectures extensively in India and abroad. He has guided and examined several doctoral dissertations.

Alternate Chairman, GMRIT Governing Council
Principal, GMR Institute of Technology

Dr. Prasad began his academic career in 1986. After his M.Tech. in Design and Production-Maching Tools from REC Warangal, he moved to Sir C R R College of Engineering, Eluru in 1990, where he served for over fifteen years, and came to head the Mechanical Engineering department.  He acquired Ph.D. from Andhra University in 2004 and moved to GMRIT in 2005 as Dean, Academic Affairs, and became its Principal in 2008. At GMRIT he developed technology enabled teaching and learning environment and spearheaded initiatives leading to accreditation by NBA, NAAC with A grade and autonomous status.

He has published in several National and International Conferences and Journals.  As a principal investigator, he lead a DST funded research project and is working in the field of Characterization and Study of Tribological Properties of Multi Striped Nano Coatings with applications in metal cutting and journal bearings. He is currently supervising three PhD scholars and two PG students. He is a fellow of Institution of Engineers, India, Life Member of ISTE, and Member of ASME & Member of IEEE. He has visited the institutions as a UGC expert member to evaluate Autonomous status. He is a member nominated by Govt. of AP for the Executive Council, the apex body of JNTUK- Kakinada, AP.

Dr.J.Raja Murugadoss
Member Secretary, GMRIT Governing Council
Vice-Principal, GMR Institute of Technology

Dr. J. Raja Murugadoss is a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Anna University, Chennai, with 15 years of experience in teaching and academic administration in various capacities, with a strong vision for shaping the students with employability skills to help them face the highly dynamic and complex employment market. He has published extensively in National and International Journals and Conferences, mostly in the field of Structural Optimization. He has guided 3 research scholars and more than 20 PG scholars.

He has good exposure to technology enabled pedagogies and extensive acquaintance to Outcome Based Education (OBE) and Outcome Based Accreditation (OBA) process. He has visited several institutions as an expert member for evaluation and as resource person to OBE awareness programme. With his effective team work, he has organized many events at National and International height in collaboration abroad universities, professional bodies and industries. He is a life member of Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE) and Associate Member of American Society of Civil Engineering (ASCE).


Dr.R.Natarajan, Member nominated by the trust
Former Chairman, All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE)
Former Director, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Madras


Dr.Prakash Apte, Member nominated by the trust

Member of Faculty, National Institute of Bank Management (NIBM), Pune

Former Director, IIM-B

Dr.Rajib Mall, Member nominated by the trust

Professor of Information Technology, Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur

Mr.Manish Sabharwal, Member nominated by the trust

Chairman, Team Lease, Bangalore

Mr.J.Satyanarayana Murthy 

Regional Joint Director, AU Region, RJD Office, Womenís Polytechnic College

Dr.B.Satyanarayana, Nominee of AICTE Under the Category of Industrialist /
Technologist / Educationist

Former Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Dr. D. Koteswara Rao, Member nominated by the trust
Prof.of Civil Engineering
Director, Faculty Development Center, JNTU Kakinada

Shri.R.Balamurugan, AICTE Nominee & Ex-Officio
South Central Regional Officer, AICTE

Dr. D.R.Prasad Raju, Member Nominee of State Govt , Under Category of
Industrialist / Technologist / Educationist
Scientist G-Advisor, Dept. of Science & Technology, New Delhi

Mr.T.S.Krishna Murthy, Member nominated by the trust
Former Chief Election Commissioner of India

Mr.Chandar Sundaram, Member nominated by the trust
Chandars Consultant, NSR Center for Entrepreunerial Learning,IIM Bangalore

Dr.M.R.Rao, Member nominated by the trust
Dean, Emeritus, Indian School of Business, Hyderabad

Prof.R.P.Dahiya, Member nominated by the UGC
Centre for Energetic studies, IIT, New Delhi

Dr.G Padmanabham
Director, ARCI, Hyderabad

Dr. V Rambabu, Faculty Member nominated by the trust
Professor in Mechanical & Controller of Examination, GMRIT 

Dr. M Venkateswara Rao, Faculty Member nominated by the trust
Professor & HOD, EEE, GMRIT


Related Links
GMR Group
Read more about the infrastructure development company with a strong commitment to corporate social responsibility.
GMR Varalakshmi Foundation
Read about GMR Groupís successful initiatives in education, empowerment, health & hygiene.